The Dubsea Community Open Mic

Just a quick update!

After my revealing pilgrimage on the Seattle buses, and meeting Ken and his Possum, I went to the White Centre (Dub. Sea. See how that works?) Community fund raising Open Mic night.

The people of Dubsea are very friendly. It is a low economic part of Seattle, Like Footscray. The local town planners have been pretty innovative about urban design here, and there’s a neighbourhood there that has been built around an amphitheatre with a cafe right beside it.

In fact, the Cafe is the Dubsea Cafe and I’ll be playing there September 30th (see the LIVE section on this website…)

the place was packed. The whole neighbourhood turned out. There’s lots and lots of every different kind of ethnicity here, just like Footscray. But They all get along really well. The community is pretty integrated. Mostly like Footscray.

And they really welcomed me. Even though I was not from the USA.

The talent at this open mic was impressive. Poets and musicians and speakers. Speakers in the US are like philosophers. They say monologues, but it’s not poetry.

And there was a fantastic R&B band there. Three guys with vocal harmonies and a great band. We set up a mutual admiration society, even though I played DREADFULLY!! And hopefully, if I’m really lucky, they’ll invite me to jam on the electric banjo.

A lot of folks will think that Banjo is incongruous with new school R&B. Well, not the way I play it. And I’m really looking forward to getting into their stuff. The band – Drums, Bass, Keys, and Guitar, is everything I’m looking for for my own line up, and man they had some smooth chops.

Unfortunately I was dead on my feet after my initiation to the Seattle bus service and I went home early, and straight to bed.

Zzzzzzzz……….